Canada accepts Physicians from what countries?

Canada has a primary focus for physicians on the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, Republic of Ireland and Israel. That said a lot of the Canadian provinces accept counties from Hong Kong, Singapore, Libya, Iraq, and Iran. Canadian provinces provide defined, provisional, or limited medical licenses for physicians with training in some of these countries. It all depends on work experience and educational pursuits since graduation. We suggest you have your credentials reviewed by U.K.’s General Medical Council or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. This will give you cache when seeking licensure in most provinces. You may not need to do it for some Canadian provinces who are in serious need of IMG physicians. It is worth the pursuit just the same. Having a letter of eligibility from the RCPSC or letter of equivalency certificate from the General Medical Council (GMC) of Completion of Training (CCT) Program is important for specialists.
As for Family Physicians, most Canadian provinces prefer Family Physicians/General Practitioners with medical credentials from the United Kingdom, Switzerland, South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand and the USA; however, some Canadian provninces will accept physicians from other countries if, 1) you have completed specified internship/post graduate clinical training programs, 2) successfully completed the Test of English Fluency (TOEFL) examination and 3) completed specified Medical Council of Canada clinical assessment examinations.
Smaller provinces in Canada like Saskatchewan and Newfoundland generally allow IMGs from select countries with eligibility to practice in a provisional capacity until some level of Canadian medical educational standard has been achieved.

For more information on licensure from your country, please contact us at or Contact info: